top of page

CHARLEY Horse!

A few weeks before Christmas, my new daughter-in-law and I were exchanging texts. I asked ‘what do you want for Xmas?’ After some thought, and attempting to bamboozle me, she finally responded: “A pony!”

I proceeded to warn her, that I am somewhat ‘famous’ for making animals magically appear when any slight hint of a desire is mentioned, by any of my loved ones.

It took a while, but before Valentine’s Day, she received the Facebook posting: “She’s HERE! Your Very Own Pony”. We (the women in the family) all agreed to name her “Charley” after a much loved humorous YouTube cartoon, that reminds us of the boys in our family. (Charlie the Unicorn – check it out!:)

Our Charley is a wonderful little gal, aged 11. She is an overgrown Miniature horse (not a pony!) and is just the right size for the HAH. We built her a lovely tiny loafing shed, where she spends her nights (and seemingly, does all her toileting). She only eats a solo cup of feed pellets each day, then grazes and weed eats the rest of the property.

My rescue Pitbull mix, Maggie, had a great first day out with Charley, running all over like a couple of cartoon characters. Running by the window taking turns of who was pursuing who, until… Maggie got popped in the eyeball with a hoof. Fortunately, it only turned a bit red and the soreness left in a couple of days. *Wipes sweat from brow!* (That was a close one.) Needless to say, my ‘little girls’ will NOT be present in the yard at the same time as Charley. Not because Charley is a problem… my stupid dogs just don’t know that THEY can get Hurt, and I’m not up for letting them learn!

So - I have a few extra chores now each day, but watching the neighbors drive by on their golf carts with bugged out eyes, is worth it.

Just wait til NEXT year, when "I" drive by on my fuel efficient, pony cart!!

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Tags
No tags yet.

In 2012, I decided to change my lifestyle and get back to the country. This meant taking control of my finances, and making important decisions...

 

Read More About Me

bottom of page