top of page

Live Tiny - But Cheat A Little

Live Tiny – But Cheat A Little

I knew when I actually began to move to my Static RV full time, I would want more room for my kitchen hobbies. I felt living out in the middle of nowhere, with a 45 minute one way drive to a major store, that a full size refrigerator and freezer would likely be necessities.

I also had concerns about a few of my gigantic sized ‘counter top’ appliances. I have a dehydrator, Vita Mix, and an awesome, cabinet space eating, Kitchen Aide Food Processor that I just wasn’t willing to part with. The Vita Mix is a very old friend (who still lives in the RV kitchen!), and the other two were recent, long awaited adoptions. They all had to stay!

Originally, my little 8’ x 12’ storage shed was to be our little ‘cabin’ while working on the other property down the street where my actual ‘granny cabin’ was to be located. Sadly, the BFF finally realized what I knew all along; there’s just not room on that lot for the two of us; so the shed got moved to the HAH for my excess kitchen requirements (and other storage)

.My first acquisition came from a friend near Austin – an artist with a very eccentric garage filled with some 9 foot long lower cabinets, with countertops, that she wanted to get rid of. In the heat of summer and an obnoxious downpour, we hauled them on a 16 ft. trailer, and loaded one of them into the tiny 8 x 12 shed. It was a beautiful fit, giving me room to work on top, and plenty of storage below.

I soon realized that what I actually REALLY REALLY needed, was a standard size fridge. Produce, after all, was the main thing I needed to store! So, I poked it in there too, in the back right corner, at the end of the counter. A few months later, I purchased a wonderful Kenmore freezer that was CRAZY on sale and stuffed it to the right side front.

While I’m sure this sounds terribly crowded, I have to say I have enjoyed the arrangement. I have plenty of ice on those hot Texas summer days, and just the other day, I found I loved using the dehydrator out there. I don’t have to listen to it whirring all day, and just pop out there to drop off and pick up! Besides; there’s something really charming about standing out there putting things on the trays. It’s a cozy little building, and gives me that true ‘homesteader’ feeling. And it smells really good!!

I truly think this is the way to do things. Just be realistic about what you will and will not part with. The things you do the most and would miss if unable to do so. In other words:

Live tiny, but cheat a little!

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Tags
No tags yet.

In 2012, I decided to change my lifestyle and get back to the country. This meant taking control of my finances, and making important decisions...

 

Read More About Me

bottom of page