top of page

Show Girl Silkie? WTF is THAT??

While it has never been in my interest to EVER purchase ‘straight run’ chicks, I just went plum crazy March 1st in LaGrange, TX at a poultry show. Let me explain:

I’d only ever been to one chicken show and that was way back in the dark ages when all my now 30 something kids were only 6 or 8 years old. We used to live in the Dallas area, and every year would attend the State Fair of Texas at Fair Park, Dallas. The midway was NOT the main attraction in my homeschooling family.. oh no! We went to enjoy all the entries from others in the food, fiber, and animal competitions. Beautiful quilts, baked goods to die for, artwork from some of the areas most talented, and last but not least: the constant three week run of ongoing animal shows and competitions.

I seem to recall that the State Fair shows would not allow sales of animals at those shows, so when I went to LaGrange, I was like a babe in the woods – hungry dog at a meat window; you get the idea, right? See, earlier in the week, my nearby nationally known hatchery, informed me that there would be NO Chicks available until middle MAY. WHAT??!! No.. that wouldn’t do. SO.. off I went to this chicken show, where as a wonderful delight to ME.. there were some chicks for sale.

I got 3 Buff Orpingtons, 4 Silkies, and 3 Lavender Auracanas. I remember the lady mentioning that a couple of the Silkies were ‘show girls’ and thought that meant a color or some other random identifying feature, and in the excitement of the egg competition, and running back and forth to the car for camera, money and various items, it just kind of slipped my mind until I got home.

THEN I took a look. *think Janet from ‘Friends’ here* Oh.. My.. God!! What did I have here? A new breed that has yet to be recognized, that was originally bred by using a ‘turken’. (Look THAT one up if you’ve never seen one!) They’re also called ‘naked necks’ if you need a hint.

Since both my show girl babies are black, I’ve decided to name them after the old cartoon I love dearly with the bashful buzzard who flies really slow and is extremely lacking in confidence: Blinky, and Bashful. Get a load of these guys and see for yourself! Think ‘Las Vegas show girls with all the froo froo feathers, and sequins dancing around!:) Can’t wait to see how these turn out. Hopefully, they’re both hens, so my white rooster can perhaps produce some whites to look more like they’re ‘name’.

I’ll keep you posted! But, truthfully, I have a suspicion that I’ll soon be hearing that gravelly, I’m not quite crowing yet pubescent rooster sound. Oh well.. there’s always Craigslist! ;)

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Tags
No tags yet.

In 2012, I decided to change my lifestyle and get back to the country. This meant taking control of my finances, and making important decisions...

 

Read More About Me

bottom of page