top of page

Try 'Tiny' Before You Buy

What considerations should you make before going tiny? I felt that, even at my age, some things just can’t be known, and therefore must be experienced! In my zeal for the tiny living quest, I decided to experiment for a couple of years in a 5th wheel RV. Getting’ down and dirty with it, also gives me time to properly design my tiny home on paper.

The thing(s) I miss the most? Well insulated walls, pipes, and ceilings! An RV is just not built like a house and while it has some wonderful accommodations when it comes to storage and practicality, the utilities are a bit ridiculous on extreme weather days for such a small structure. Even though I’m located in south central Texas, this has been one of our coldest winters, following one of the driest, hottest summers. Go figure! I guess the ‘universe’ wanted me to have every possible experience here, right away, to make my future decisions much smarter?

I’ve had to forgo my awesome view out my west side windows in the summer and cover them with foil. This coming summer I will invest in the rolls of sunshield, like the sun visors you put on your auto windshield. That way, I can have better insulating qualities than foil, AND I can remove and replace them at will; something impossible with good old Reynolds Wrap! My mini-van has been outfitted for a few years with these beauties on the windows (for ‘camping’) and it makes a HUGE difference in the summer. One needs to be exceptionally careful in parking lots and when backing, however! It’s like driving a panel truck, with no visibility.

This winter, I’ve made several weekly runs ‘to town’ to fill up the onboard propane bottles. If I operate more than one electric eater at a time, (heater/hair dryer/microwave) I then get to go outside and flip my breaker. Not something I want to do at 3 A.M. when it’s dark and cold! Over time, I’ve learned to shut off the electric heater before I run the microwave, as well as saving a little propane by using the electric for supplemental heating.

The windows on either side of my bed are more of a curse than a blessing when it’s cold. First, I threw a towel over the curtain rod, and then duct taped the bottom of the towel to the wall. This worked for a while. Then if got REALLY cold, and I plastered duct tape up the sides of the towel. Air was still leaking in from somewhere, even after I placed my guest pillows on the little shelf between the bed and window. I finally discovered that the air leak was blowing in through the wall plug! Yes, you guessed it. More duct tape, which worked like a charm. Only problem: again, I can’t see out. *sigh* On the ‘up’ side, it’s great for sleeping in!

The next drafty spot was in the kitchen, which also took me a while to find. A small gap next to my refrigerator is now happily filled with half a round of pipe insulation and no longer let’s in old man winter’s chill.

The only other thing I REALLY miss? Well – its ego driven, I’m afraid. I don’t like the looks of an RV as a ‘home’, or the looks and attitude I get from some people occasionally! I like wood, and porches, and shutters and things like that. The trade offs are really very few, and honestly, if this thing were insulated better, and didn’t look like a behemoth, I’d probably not bother with a ‘conventional’ tiny house. I am getting up in years. In my case, nothing has to last forever, and I certainly don’t have to deal with anybody who has no vision or adventure in their soul! But I have to say: my next home is going to have a full length bath tub! Ah, how I miss my bubbles!

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Tags
No tags yet.

In 2012, I decided to change my lifestyle and get back to the country. This meant taking control of my finances, and making important decisions...

 

Read More About Me

bottom of page