top of page

I'm Baaaack!


Here it is 2018, and I finally rediscovered my long lost password to my blog. It's been a long steady climb, and the Half-Assed Homestead has moved down the road a bit. I've gotten out of the RV, finished my beautiful little Granny Cabin, and moved in during the summer of 2017.

It seems I've been through some interesting times in my head.

First, I decided I wanted to travel, so I rigged up my mini van with a bed, a little kitchen, and lots of storage underneath. I got rid of all my animals except my 'girls', Maya and Pixie, who are good travelers. Once the cabin was finished and I was settled in, along came Hurricane Harvey.

I decided last year's 20" rain event was enough for me to go thru and started packing the van for evacuation. (If I'm going to DIE of some weather event, I at LEAST want to have some idea Which Direction it's coming from. Last 20 incher was so intense I got no signal on Any device, and went 6 hours at a streatch with NO contact with the outside world!) Somewhere in the middle of the day's packing, I realized I might just as well go on to Omaha (land of my birth and first 10 years) for my long awaited return trip.

I have to admit it was kind of hard to enjoy myself and spent most of my time in a LaQuinta hotel room watching the weather channel's coverage of my 'homies' being drowned! So much for my 'camper van' plan! But oh, those temperatures! Here it was the last week of August and the mornings in Omaha were 60 humidity free degrees, and simply gorgeous. I could have stayed forever!

It's funny I didin't remember it being so hilly. I visited a lot of places I used to go as a kid, but they all centered around downtown, which (sadly?) is now overrun with restrauants, and missing quite a few buidings. But, that's okay. There was enough left to actually overcome me a bit when I turned toward the east from where I had lived as a kid. It was the same. Geographically. It was FAMILIAR. I like familiar. It's comforting.

Omaha is a beautiful city, and I finally know, now, why I was so pissed off, for so long, after being moved to Texas. Waco, in particular. Metropolitan world class city in 1963, to podunck horrorville. That's right. I said it: even if Waco HAS gown up some in the last 50 years with some help from Dr. Pepper and Chip and Joanna Gaines, it will never match Omaha.

So; back to my blog and the Half-Assed Homestead.

After I returned home I couldn't figure out what to do with myself after years of working toward my debt free 'project' life. Once it was done, I couldn't decide where I wanted to Go, so I ultimately reverted back to my self imposed homesteader 'roots', and picked up a couple of little Nigerian Dwarf goats to help me finish slowly clearing out the underbrush a bit. If I get a travel urge, I have a neighbor who can look after them since they're pretty self sufficient.

Some of us just don't feel 'right' unless we have a few animals around. I'm pretty sure this isn't just in my head. It must be in the genes.

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Tags
No tags yet.

In 2012, I decided to change my lifestyle and get back to the country. This meant taking control of my finances, and making important decisions...

 

Read More About Me

bottom of page